January 3, 1995

by jkatejohnston

Dear Max,

I woke up and heard the rain and also Teresa singing (with very little tune and her long pauses) “Stormy weather…since my Kitty-Cat and I ain’t together…keeps raining all the time.”

And then on to, “I’m a little Kitty-Cat…short and stout…”

Remember the fight I got into with the chairman of the English Department, and how I slammed his office door and was thoroughly foiled by the hydraulic hinge?  I forgot to write that a few days later, on Saturday, I saw him walking his dog on campus.  I didn’t recognize him at first, and I now he didn’t recognize me.  (I was wearing a long black coat, sunglasses and a great deal of lipstick.)  I smiled at him, full of good will, thinking, “A man!” and then I recognized him and just stared and narrowed my eyes behind my sunglasses, to great effect I’m sure, and then he recognized me and averted his glance.

I wish I hadn’t recognized him.  But it was interesting to experience such a quick reversal of feelings.

