February 26, 2013

by jkatejohnston

Dear Max,

We got up after a shitty night’s sleep. Enzo wandered around the house calling, “Mama Kate!  Mama Kate?” while I hid in my writing fort.  I came out and asked what he needed.  “I need some privacy,” and he went into the bathroom and shut the door.  A few minutes later he came out and found me again.  He bared his teeth. 

“Did you brush your teeth?”

He nodded.  “And I washed my face and brushed my hair too.”

Normally we’re ecstatic if he wipes his own ass without prompting.  What is he up to?

 *

A few days ago Enzo was hiding behind a stool which he held on its side so that he could peak through a hole in the middle of the seat. 

Me:  You’re spying on me.

Enzo:  How did you know?

Me:  Inspired guess.

Enzo:  What does inspired mean?

Me:  Um…

Enzo:  It means awesome.

Me:  It means sort of like filled with the breath of discovery.  (I had some dim notion that it had to do with breathing life into something and the gods and stuff, but I always get in trouble when I get into the gods.)

Enzo:  Oh.  Like how booty means butt and crotch?

Me:  Yeah, sort of.

 *

Update:  the exercise room guy is back.  He asked me if I ever found the person I was looking for and I said yes, and we went back to our corners.

