5 March 1995

by jkatejohnston

Dear Max,

I decided to move in with Teresa at the end of the month instead of waiting until summer. It came to me in a flash: why even come back to Oakland after spring break?  I only have class two days a week. I can commute and stay the night at Mills in an old empty dorm from the 20s where they let you rent a room for the night, and it’s cheap. I’ll have to made six or seven trips. And so it’s almost settled, and I feel very strange and happy.  And scared, because I’m about to start what I hope is sort of the rest of my life. I feel like I’m about to get married.

Teresa is as perfect as could be, so loving and lovable. And we want the same things: babies, just enough money, love, our work. And so your present diarist is awaiting what may be the most important thing that ever happens to her. It feels so strange.

