13 May 2013

by jkatejohnston

Dear Max,

I have some notes that I’d better get down.

Enzo and I were making experiments in the kitchen in the morning before work. We pureed some watermelon. He wanted to add milk to make a watermelon milkshake. I tried to convince him that yogurt or kefir would make it creamy and thick and that milk might not be quite right.

“But it has to be a milkshake.” We ended up using both. We tasted the results.

“It almost his a tiny bit of critical acid,” he said.

He also made amphibian juice popsicles. (Orange juice with four kinds of sno-cone syrup. Freeze.)

*

You know that series of children’s books, Max and Ruby? Well, they exist. And there are a lot of them, plus a TV show, which starts with a song that goes, “Max and Ruby! Ruby and Max!”

So Teresa was reading Enzo Max and Ruby’s Treasure Hunt, and Enzo said, “Max and Booby.” They chuckled about that for a while, and then Teresa added. “Cracks and Booby.” And ever since, we’ve all been going around singing, “Cracks and Booby! Booby and Cracks!”

*

I was putting ointment on Enzo’s eczema and singing, “Just a spoonful of sugar makes the medicine go down…” and Enzo said, “Just a spoonful of boogers,” so now when I put on his medicine we sing, “Just a spoonful of boogers makes the medicine go down, in the most delightful way.”

*

I just have to add that Enzo and I made sushi, and my dears it was a triumph. Our sushi has three ingredients: rice, gravlax and sesame seeds.

