26 June 2013 BIG DAY

by jkatejohnston

Dear Max,

Teresa was reading in the paper about that tech guy who leaked the info about the NSA surveillance programs and then fled to Hong Kong, and now the U.S. is trying to get him back and everyone in the world is like, extradition treaty? What extradition treaty?

Teresa: “If I were Wanted would you hide me?”

Me: “Oh, honey, I’d harbor you.”

Whenever someone obscure gets freakishly famous, I think—that’s what I have to do, and then people will read my diary. I want to be popular, I want to be wanted. (Aren’t a bit old for that feeling?) But I can’t think of any way to be wanted without being Wanted.

*

Enzo:  Mama-Kate, you’re a Chubb. Mama-Teresa, you’re a Fat-head Minnow. And I’m a Golden Shiner.

(later, around 7:30)

Teresa and I hung over the radio, went to the computer, back to the radio. News on the Marriage Cases was coming out in little dribbles. It sounded good. And then the decisions. I haven’t read them yet, but the radio said what they were:  Defense of Marriage Act overturned. Prop 8 case rejected for lack of standing.

“I have no idea what that means,” said Teresa

“It’s good!’ I said. We hugged. I cried a bit.

“Oh! Tears!” said Teresa.

Well, it’s wonderful, that’s all. There’s supposed to be a rally-celebration today at 6:00 at the capital. We’ll probably miss it because Enzo has dodge ball and I have law school. Perhaps we should blow these things off. We’ll see…

Anyway, I feel a deep, deep happiness. It’s a lawyer’s happiness as well as a partner’s. Every now and then the law does come through big time. It makes you proud.

And how happy I am now that a few months ago I wrote, on an unrelated subject, “Ruth Bader Ginsburg, I kiss your tiny feet.” Well, I kiss them again. Smack-smack.

Now I have to go read the decisions.  Hurrah, Hurrah.

