A Small Collection of Classics

by jkatejohnston

1 June 2014

Dear Max,

“You look like you have a volcano on your head.” He was talking about my pimple, which is on my forehead. I told Teresa that this pimple had been every kind of pimple that a pimple can be: blackhead, whitehead, pustule.

Maybe it’s going through the seven stages of grief,” she said. We decided it was on rage. Later she asked me how my pimple was doing.

“Bargaining.”

*

“Mom, are we bachelors?”

*

“You want to hear something crazy? A guy tried to kiss a lemon shark—on the lips!”

*

Enzo and his friends have code names: Drago, Beeker, Lightening Poop, Poison Tornado and Jeremy.

*

“I’ve got a pretty big Adam’s apple. Maybe the biggest in town. For my age.”

*

“That simply means candy. All night. Forever.” I don’t remember the context for this, but now seems as good a time as any to mention that Enzo got his crown. It’s his bling.

*

Enzo made our bed, a little lopsidedly. He used every pillow in the house. “I’m going to include a small collection of classics. For each of you.” On Teresa’s nightstand he put three Black Stallions, on mine several Great Brains and Fishing Basics.

*

“Kate! You are illusive!”

*

“I was thinking, when I had a bloody nose at school, I would like to have a black eye to go with it.”

*

I got Enzo a big bath sponge and some Olay moisturizing body wash. “I polished my whole body three times.”

*

“At times Daphne can be very beautiful. She’s the fanciest girl in the Americas. That’s North and South America.”

