Enzo Notes

by jkatejohnston

3 June 2015

Dear Max,

“Whoever wins doesn’t get any cash—just glory.” I grab pen and paper, and for once he’s not irritated with my note-taking. He begins speaking slowly, wanting me to get it right. “All thirty-two kids are conticipating in this contest. And the last two people duel, and one of them is going to win. First, desk-partner on desk-partner. And we just keep doing it and doing it and doing it until there are just two left. And whoever doesn’t get puckered first wins.”

“But what is the contest about?”

“Drinking lemon juice. Up to half a liter. And you know a Chinese face can’t get puckered.” (Enzo is half Chinese.)

Later, as he’s getting ready for bed: “Mom, what does puckering look like?” I pucker. He puckers back. “I’ve never puckered in my whole life, even though I’ve dranken lemon juice straight from the lemon.”

 *

“I’ve caughten some large whoppers. Whoppers, whoppers, whoppers.”

*

“I gave Colin a smell of my breath, and I had birthday cake gum in my mouth, and he loved it.”

*

“I gotta go to the bathroom. I’m gathering some god cards to give me strength.”

*

“As soon as the first tomato pops up, I’m going to throw it on the fire as an offering to Demeter.”

*

“I got an idea for a Louisiana picnic. Get your notebook ready. And your pen. A pot full of crawdads. A plate full of biscuits. Cob of corn—corn on the cob. And some hot chili peppers. Make ’em really, really hot, like the hottest peppers on the planet.”

*

“In India they have the world’s hottest peppers. Their ears have been known to steam.”

*

“Mom, while you’re reading, can I do some finger-knitting? I want to make Colin a little winter dog collar. And some bracelets.” Later, showing me the bracelets. “Is it okay if Colin wears them in bed? Because they’re little PJ’s.”

*

Enzo goes to the misc. drawer in the kitchen and comes back with one of great-great-great grandmother Kitty’s fruit knives and a packet of hot sauce from Taco bell. “You never know when a baggie of hot sauce is going to come in handy.” (I think that’s the right number of greats for Enzo’s generation. Kitty was my great grandmother Kate’s mother. My parents can correct this in the comments if needed.

