Alone Together

by jkatejohnston

20 November 2016

Dear Max,

We’re not going anywhere or seeing any family this Thanksgiving. That’s not unusual for us. But we’ve decided to take the concept one step further and not see each other either.

It all started with our three very different Ideal Thanksgivings.

Teresa: Watch football all day long without stopping. Eat great snacks.

Enzo: Go to Marie Calendars for turkey and ham and all the trimmings. Spend the rest of the day hanging out with the dogs and getting extra Minecraft time. (I took him to Marie Calendars for pie one day, and he picked up their Thanksgiving brochure, which he’s been studying.)

Me: Make the greatest picnic in history, bring a fresh New Yorker, Desolation Island, Frantumaglia and somehow get my hands on an L.A. Times. Go to Sailor’s Bar on the American River and read and eat for hours. No fishing.

So we’ve decided to do all three. Teresa and Enzo will have to combine their plans because we can’t just send him to Marie Calendars on his own. I’ll take Colin to the river.

I’m excited about it. I think I’ll be lonely, but happy.

I’m not sure what to put in my picnic, but I do know that there will be courses, there will be chips, and coffee at the end.

